I Wanna Sing!

I don’t do much on a Sunday. I do the minimal housework I can get away with and just do peaceful things. I read or I write. I play with the children. One of my most enjoyable Sunday activities is listening to music, having a sing along and (I’m not ashamed to say) having a good cry as the lyrics or the tune hits me and takes hold.

Today I was inspired by Emelij Sande’s ‘Read All About It (PTIII)’. I’ve never really listened to the lyrics to this version but I was on a Sande roll so today I listened deep. This song spoke to me, as a writer. This paragraph especially:-

You’ve got the words to change a nation
but you’re biting your tongue
You’ve spent a life time stuck in silence
afraid you’ll say something wrong
If no one ever hears it how we gonna learn your song?

I’ve been writing since I was 12 years old. In the last 18 years I can count on my hand the number of people who have read my work. If I’m honest there hasn’t been much that’s good enough for an audience. But what work I’ve written that was good enough (poetry and short stories mostly) I’ve hidden away inside a computer while complaining that I’ll never make it as a writer.

I fear rejection, even more than that I fear failing. The thought of putting myself out there, my heart and my soul, and being ‘less than good’ (rubbish actually) terrifies me and silences me into the background.

But this stops now. It has to. I have to take a leap of faith and bring my words forth giving them the opportunity they deserve. I have to sing. So today and every day I will.

Leave a Reply

